Isle of Wight Council


About the Councillors

This service is part of our development to improve our website and can now be found on our new beta website.



The Isle of Wight Council was created in 1995 as a unitary or all-purpose authority, responsible for virtually all local government activities on the Island. It replaced the former Isle of Wight County Council and the two borough councils of Medina and South Wight. In addition to the Isle of Wight Council there are 33 town and parish councils, which cover the whole Island. These look after a variety of local issues such as some recreation grounds, some amenity grass cutting and many operate other facilities in their areas.


The Isle of Wight Council has 39 elected councillors, who are responsible for determining the direction of the council.