About Island schools

We operate a two-tier system of schools with 48 local authority maintained schools or academies which are made up as follows:

  • 37 primary schools for pupils aged 4 to 11years
  • six secondary schools for pupils aged 11 to 19 years
  • one all-through school for pupils aged 4 to 16 years
  • two mixed-sex special schools. One for primary aged pupils and one for secondary aged and sixth form pupils
  • one Pupil Referral Unit for pupils aged 11 to 16 years

Location maps

View our location map for primary schools.

View our location map for secondary schools.